Apply to USF Now | Events & Workshops | Giving to the Office of Graduate Studies

Office of Postdoctoral Affairs

Provost's Postdoctoral Initiative

In 2007, the university embarked on a bold, ambitious plan to elevate the performance and rankings of the University of South Florida as one of the nation's leading research universities. Entitled the 2007-2012 Strategic Plan, this initiative provided the USF community with a clear vision, goals, strategies, and measures to promote alignment and success. It was clearly directed at ensuring student success, contributing innovation and new knowledge, and advancing economic development in Florida, the nation, and globally.

As part of this initiative, the University of South Florida instituted a new Postdoctoral Scholars program beginning with the social sciences and humanities in 2009. The postdoctoral scholars that were chosen from the nearly 225 applications received for the pilot program have not only been essential to the research and scholarly mission of the University of South Florida, but thay have already enriched the USF research community with their knowledge and expertise.

This innovative program has met with so much acclaim and praise that the Provost has decided to make it an ongoing program. Below a summary of the contributions from the Provost's Postdoctoral Initiative in Social Sciences and Humanities to USF and appointed Postdoctoral Scholars since its start in 2009 can be reviewed:

Provost's Postdoctoral Initiative Report

Below are the themes for each year the program has been offered and the requirements to apply: