Apply to USF Now | Graduate Admissions | Events & Workshops | Giving to the Office of Graduate Studies

Graduate Student Ambassadors Program


USF Office of Graduate Studies Orientation

If you enjoy meeting new people, having an input on policies and decisions, serving on university committees, developing your leadership potential or just sharing your experience as a graduate student, we invite you to apply to join the Graduate Student Ambassadors Program here at the University of South Florida.

This select group of graduate students will serve as an advisory group to the Office of Graduate Studies Dean, mentor new graduate students, and serve as official student representatives for the Office of Graduate Studies.


Minimum Requirements:

Interested students must submit an application packages including the completed application, a CV or resume, an essay describing why one wishes to be a Graduate Student Ambassador, and a letter of support from your advisor.

E-mail all information to Gary Oliver at oliverg@usf.edu or return the application package to ALN 226 by the deadline.

For more information please contact Gary Oliver at oliverg@usf.edu or 813-974-7935


Graduate Student Ambassador Program Questions & Answers

What is the Graduate Student Ambassador program?

The Graduate Student Ambassadors Program at the University of South Florida provides opportunities for graduate students to advise the Dean of the Office of Graduate Studies and to be actively involved in building a graduate community by creating a network for communication and assistance among prospective, current and former graduate students.

Who sponsors this program?

The Graduate Student Ambassadors program is sponsored by the Office of Graduate Studies and is coordinated by the Assistant Director for Graduate Student Services.

What types of services are provided by the Graduate Student Ambassadors?

Graduate Student Ambassadors will, first and foremost, serve in an advisory capacity to the Office of Graduate Studies Dean. They are the official graduate student representatives for the Office of Graduate Studies. Ambassadors will be expected to participate in Dialogue with the Dean (DWD) meetings, advise other Office of Graduate Studies administrators on matters of interest to graduate students (as requested), serve on Office of Graduate Studies and University committees, represent their colleges and programs on the Graduate and Professional Student Council (GPSC) and participate in other special Office of Graduate Studies programs or projects (e.g. Open House, Week of Welcome, and Graduate Student Appreciation Week).

What type of time commitment would I be expected to make?

Graduate Student Ambassadors will be expected to attend one (1) Dialogue with the Dean each semester and a minimum of one meeting or event per semester. Ambassadors will also be expected to participate in New Graduate Student Orientation sessions and be willing to assist with other programs and activities when needed.

Is there any compensation for Graduate Student Ambassadors?

There is no compensation for Graduate Student Ambassadors. However, there will be a modest amount of financial support for special programs and projects sponsored by Graduate Ambassadors through GPSC. Volunteers will also receive a USF Graduate Ambassador polo style shirt to be worn at Office of Graduate Studies sponsored events.

Why should I apply to be a Graduate Student Ambassador?

Being a Graduate Student Ambassador will give you direct access to the Office of Graduate Studies Dean in an advisory role. It is also a great opportunity to meet new and prospective graduate students and improve your leadership skills.

Iím interested, how should I apply?

Applications are available at the beginning of the academic year on the Office of Graduate Studies website (Click here for application) or can be picked up in the Office of Graduate Studies Deanís Office. Completed applications include the form, CV (resume), essay, and letter of support from the studentís advisor and are due no later than 5PM on the deadline date listed on the application. Please send to Gary Oliver at ALN226 or email to oliverg@usf.edu .


Please click here for Graduate Student Ambassador Application (PDF)


2013 Graduate Student Ambassadors

Dear University Community,

We are pleased to announce and introduce to the University of South Florida community, the inaugural group of graduate students selected to serve as Graduate Student Ambassadors. These students will serve as official representatives of the Office of Graduate Studies and represent their colleges in an advisory capacity to the Dean. They will participate in Dialogue with the Dean (DWD) meetings, advise other Office of Graduate Studies administrators on matters of interest to graduate students, serve on Office of Graduate Studies and University committees, represent their colleges and programs on the Graduate and Professional Student Council (GPSC) and participate in other special Office of Graduate Studies programs or projects (e.g. New Graduate Student Orientation, Open House, Week of Welcome, and Graduate Student Appreciation Week).
USF Office of Graduate Studies Orientation

The graduate students listed below were selected to represent the various colleges:


College of Arts & Sciences

Graduate Student Ambassadors Jennifer Borja - jlcolon@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Alex Bravo - abravo@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Eileen Dabrowski - edabrows@usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Fillipe Dias Moreira de Souza - fillipe@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Mabel Duran-Sanchez - mabel1@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Jammarie Pena - jpena@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Prisca Suarez - priscagayles@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Salahuddin Syed - ssyed2@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Jennifer Whalen - jrwhalen@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Mary Catherine Whitlock - mcwhitlock@mail.usf.edu


College of Behavioral & Community Sciences

Graduate Student Ambassadors Jason Dobrow - jdobrow@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Amy Eggers - aeggers@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Mathew Lynch - lynchm@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Jessica Russo - russo2@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Alisa Tabak - atabak2@mail.usf.edu


College of Business

Graduate Student Ambassadors Ilya Orlik - ilyaorlik@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Shannon Wide - swilde@mail.usf.edu


College of Education

Graduate Student Ambassadors Kenzapa Bryant-Scott - kenzapa@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Edward DiMarco - edimarco@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Sarah Geiger - sarah53@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Wilpam Holder - wholder@health.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Jessica Vazquez - jvazquez3@mail.usf.edu


College of Engineering

Graduate Student Ambassadors Vinicio Carias - vinicio@mail.usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Kermit Falk - Kermit.arthur.falk@gmail.com

Graduate Student Ambassadors Syed Ap Gardezi - sgardez2@usf.edu

Graduate Student Ambassadors Christine Prouty - christineprouty@gmail.com

Please join us in congratulating and welcoming these students as Graduate Student Ambassadors.
USF Office of Graduate Studies